Lis Wiehl Keeps You on the Edge of Your Seat

Darkness Rising is the middle book in Lis Wiehl and Pete Nelson’s East Salem trilogy.  Dani Harris is a forensic psychiatrist who serves as a consultant for the district attorney’s office in East Salem, NY.  Tommy Gunderson, her boyfriend and would-be private eye, is a retired pro football player and owner of a local gym.  Having solved a murder committed by a student at St. Adrian’s boarding school, they are now investigating the school itself.  St. Adrian’s is having an exhibition of paintings by a Dutch artist that are not what they seem.  Meanwhile, there are still the mysterious wanderings and ramblings of Tommy’s neighbor Abbe Gardener to unravel.

Middle books in trilogies are notoriously difficult to write, but this one will keep you on the edge of your seat.  I actually liked it even better than the first book in the series.  There are twists and turns, mysteries solved and new puzzles cropping up.  Several things happened that I did not see coming.  The characters are multidimensional and believable.

You do not need to read the first book in the trilogy to enjoy this one.  However, there are several spoilers in this book  as the authors bring the reader up to date on what has happened so fa.  Darkness Rising can be enjoyed by itself, but I for one would not enjoy reading the books out of order.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Christian Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

