Engrossing Story about Choices

Robert Whitlow’s “The Choice” opens up in Rutland, Georgia in 1974.  Sandy Lincoln is 17, pregnant, and scared.  There are so many choices she has to make.  Her boyfriend Brad wants her to have a newly-legal abortion, promising to marry her afterward.  His parents want the abortion but don’t want the kids to stay together.  Sandy’s aunt Linda has offered to let her stay with her in Atlanta, going to school there and giving the baby up for adoption.  Another option would be for Sandy to drop out of school, get her GED and have the baby in Rutland.

Sandy agonizes over this decision and others that follow, receiving advice from her parents, friends, aunt and boyfriend, but ultimately having to make the choice herself.  And as I read, I was right there with her.  What choices would I have made in her shoes?  What choices would I want my daughter to make?

In Part II, we find Sandy, 33 years later.  Whitlow shows how the choice she made as a 17 year old has impacted the rest of her life.  Now Sandy is a teacher, and wants to help Maria, a young girl from a troubled family who is pregnant and facing the same choices that Sandy once had to make.  But the school counselor doesn’t appreciate Sandy’s interference.

Whitlow has written an engrossing story, with his legal prowess showing in the second half of the book.  While the first half is fairly straightforward with only a few surprises, the second half offers many twists and turns on its way to a satisfying conclusion.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Christian Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

