Well-Written Novel of an Immigrant in Wyoming

Can you imagine being in a foreign country where few people speak your language, and then losing your husband and home?  That’s what happens to Francesca Sittoni in Alethea Williams’ new novel, Willow Vale.  Not long after she and her young daughter move from Italy to Wyoming, her husband dies in a mine accident, leaving Francesca alone and pregnant, with a small child and a home that the mining company wants her to vacate.

Francesca answers an ad for a housekeeper in Willow Vale, and meets Kent Reed, a World War I veteran with issues of his own.  Francesca dares not tell Kent that prior to the war, her native land was part of Austria, who fought against the Allies, and not part of friendly Italy until after the war.   Their relationship is complicated by both the language barrier and the hard times that each has faced.

I have visited South Tyrol in Italy, which is the area of Francesca’s birth.  Alethea Williams brings across both the beauty of the land and the attitudes of its residents after the war.   She ably describes the frustrations that Francesca faced dealing with a language barrier and uncertainty over American customs.  This book is definitely worth reading.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Christian Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Well-Written Novel of an Immigrant in Wyoming

  1. Thank you for a wonderful review, Lilibet. I am so glad you liked Willow Vale. Alethea

  2. Abbie Taylor says:

    Thank you for a great review. In case you’re interested, I have published a couple of books of my own. We Shall Overcome is a romance novel that was released in 2007 by iUniverse. A collection of poems, How to Build a Better Mousetrap: Recollections and Reflections of a Family Caregiver, also published by iUniverse, was released in December of 2011. Please visit my Website at http://www.abbiejohnsontaylor.com If you would like to review any of my books, you can e-mail me from there.

  3. Looks like an interesting read- I’ll definitely check it out. I too have traveled to Northern Italy, and I fell in love with the region!

Leave a Reply

