Moving Contemporary Fiction from Amish Author Wiseman

I’ve always enjoyed Beth Wiseman’s books, even though in general I’m ambivalent when it comes to Amish fiction.  So when I heard that she was writing a contemporary story, I was very excited.  I’m happy to say that “Need You Now” doesn’t disappoint.

Darlene and Brad have moved from Houston to Round Top, Texas, to have a better life for their three children.  Brad still works in Houston and hopes to make partner soon.  17-year-old son Chad ran with the wrong crowd in Houston, but seems to have nicer companions in Round Top.  15-year-old Grace has always been the perfect child, but now her parents question her choice of friends. Ansley, at twelve, no longer needs her mother at home all day.

Darlene struggles with the challenges of rural living, from chickens to snakes.  Although she enjoys their new church, she needs to make friends, so she looks for work.  She also reaches out to her new neighbor Layla, a brusque, independent rancher.  Layla is a woman who alternately is helpful and aloof.

Wiseman has written a beautiful novel about family and friendships through struggles and times of joy.  I laughed and cried while reading this book, and did not want it to end.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Christian Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

