Mature Christians Need Help Too

Stand By Me is the first book in Neta Jackson’s new SouledOut Sisters series.   Avis Douglass first appeared in the Yada Yada Prayer Group series as the wise mentor to the group.  Avis is still involved in Yada Yada, but lately, she’s been out of sorts.  She is worried about her daughter Rochelle and grandson Conny.  Her husband Peter is restless in his job, and Avis has concerns about the security of her job as well.

And then the last straw is Kat Davies.  This young grad student from Cristo University appears with a group of friends at Souled Out Church and immediately gets under Avis’ skin.  Making matters worse, Kat and her friends are looking to sublet an apartment for the summer in the same building as Avis and Peter.

Many people view mature Christians as having perfect lives.  Avis Douglass is the perfect example of someone who is still working out her faith daily.  She is a great source of wisdom and strength for others, but still has her own struggles to deal with, and her life is hardly perfect.

I was fascinated with the character of Avis Douglass when we first met her in The Yada Yada Prayer Group.  Like me, she has practical advice to offer others, but sometimes has trouble following it herself.  I look forward to learning more about her in the future.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Christian Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

