A Leader Who Grew Amid Controversy

Called to Controversy, by Ruth Rosen, is an excellent biography of her father, Moishe Rosen, the founder of Jews for Jesus.  Moishe were born into a non-observant Jewish family, and he and his wife Ceil converted to Christianity soon after they married.  Moishe became a missionary for the American Board of Missions to the Jews, and eventually left to found his own organization, which became known as Jews for Jesus.

Called to Controversy is more than a biography.  Rosen shares her father’s failures as well as successes, and shows how he grew as a leader.  Moishe’s leadership lessons are woven throughout his story.  Moishe had little formal leadership training yet led a world-wide organization for decades.  I found it fascinating to follow his evolution as a leader and compare it to my own growth.

Moishe Rosen’s ministry faced several unique problems.  The largest obstacle was to overcome the perception that Judaism and Christianity are mutually exclusive.  Another was the misperception that Jewish traditions had to be abandoned if Jesus was recognized as the messiah.  Moishe’s message was so controversial that anti-missionary protesters came to disrupt his speeches.

When I picked up this book, I expected a biography of Rosen and a history of Jews for Jesus, an organization I have long admired.  In addition, I found excellent advice for new and growing leaders.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Biography, Book Reviews, Leadership and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Leader Who Grew Amid Controversy

  1. Ruth says:

    I very much appreciate Ms. King’s kind review but would like to clarify a couple of factual issues. My mother was brought up in a strictly Orthodox Jewish home, while my father’s home was less observant. And, while Jews for Jesus has faced quite a bit of opposition from anti-missionaries, I would not say that Jewish groups frequently sent them to meetings where my father spoke. As far as I know, aggressive and disruptive anti-missionaries act on their own and not in accordance with mainstream Jewish groups who value tolerance and free speech. Thanks for reading Called to Controversy, and for helping get the word out. Ruth Rosen

    • Lilibet King says:

      Thank you for clarifying. I should have stated that your father frequently faced disruption from anti-missionaries and others who opposed his message. I found the need for missionaries to be trained in handling this one of the most interesting parts of the book. I have updated my review accordingly. Lilibet King

Leave a Reply

