Excellent Story of Alzheimer’s and Forgiveness

Mercy Come Morning by Lisa Tawn Bergren

Krista Mueller has to face it – her mother is dying. Worse, her mother has been suffering from Alzheimer’s disease for the past 20 years. There are issues that Krista needs to resolve with her mother before it’s too late.

Krista’s mother has the best care possible, at an Alzheimer’s facility run by expert gerontologist Dane McConnell. And that presents another problem, because Dane was Krista’s high school love. As she makes the five hour trek from Colorado back to her home town of Taos, New Mexico, Krista has a lot on her mind.

Bergren has written a touching story about unresolved family issues, forgiveness, and caring for Alzheimer’s patients. This book was originally published in 2002 as Christmas Every Morning. I am glad that I did not try to read it when it was originally published, as my father was suffering from Alzheimer’s at the time and I would not have been able to read this book. Even eight years later, I cried throughout the last 50 pages. I highly recommend this well-written story.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group Blogging for Books program for this review.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Christian Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

