What My Mother Taught Me About Reading – 10 Authors I Can’t Resist

When I first learned to read, my mother took me to the library and helped me pick out books that I would like.  She introduced me to Carolyn Haywood and Beverly Cleary.  Mom gave me a rule of thumb to help me find books.  She told me that if I liked one book by an author, then I would enjoy other books by the same author.

So, in memory of Mom, here are 10 authors that I can’t resist purchasing when I see a new book on the shelf:

10 – Nancy Moser is an author who excels equally at writing historical or contemporary fiction.  She’s taught me about Jane Austen and Martha Washington, and kept me entranced with modern-day stories like John 3:16.

9 – Noel Hynd writes fast-paced adventures featuring US Treasury Agent Alexandra DeLuca.  From Kiev to Havanna, these books have kept me on the edge of my seat.  My one complaint is that Barnes and Noble put Hostage in Havanna under general fiction, so it was out for a couple of months before I found it.

8 – Lynn Austin – Whether writing about Swedish immigrants, Prohibition or World War II, her characters pull the reader into the story and feel as though we are a part of it.

7 – Nancy Rue creates characters that are as imperfect as I am.  I am like Allison Chamberlain, needing to be pulled from my comfort zone.  I am like Sullivan Crisp, trying to reach out and help others despite my own pain.

6 – Donita K. Paul writes delightful allegories much like C.S. Lewis’ Narnia.  I love the Dragon Keeper books, but my absolute favorite is her Christmas Novella, “Two Tickets to the Christmas Ball.”

5 – Don Brown is a former Navy JAG officer with a gift for writing adventure and suspense.  His Navy experience gives his books the feel of a Tom Clancy novel.

4 – Colleen Coble is another author who can spin a great story in a variety of different settings.  From Hawaii to Texas to Michigan, I can’t put down her novels.  I want to know what is going to happen next with her wonderful characters.  The Rock Harbor series is my favorite, because I love small towns and dogs, but I would read anything she’s written.

3 –  Davis Bunn – There aren’t many authors who can write edge-of-your-seat suspense one minute and write an adventure in Biblical times with Janette Oke the next, but Davis Bunn manages to do it and do it well.  From his very first novel, “The Presence”, about what it would be like if a few politicians in Washington really lived out their beliefs, I have been a huge fan.

2 – Francine Rivers has written books that cover everything from the Roman Empire to contemporary life.  The best thing about her novels is that they make me think.  Some, like “The Atonement Child” or “The Last Sin Eater” challenge my beliefs.  Others, like “Redeeming Love” or “The Scarlet Thread”, help me relate Biblical stories to my life now.  And her latest series, “Marta’s Legacy”, has me thinking about the legacy my mother and grandmother left to me, and what I will someday leave to my daughters.

1 – Paul L. Maier is at the top of the list because his novels are few and far between.  It was 8 years between “More than a Skeleton” and “The Constantine Codex”.  Yet it is worth the wait.  His “Skeleton” series is a combination of archaelogical adventure and apologetic.  The information alone is fascinating, and it is wrapped around characters and conflicts that come alive off the page.

There are so many authors whose work I enjoy, that it was hard to narrow it down to just 10.  Who do you think I missed?

Note:  The links in this article are to author pages at www.familyfiction.com, where you can learn more about each author and their work.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Christian Fiction, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

