J.R.R. Tolkien by Mark Horne

J.R.R. Tolkien is the latest biography by Mark Horne in the Christian Encounter series.  My daughter and I are fans of The Lord of the Rings, both books and movies, and reviewed
this book with great interest.  It is a short, easy read, highlighting the influences of his family life and Christian faith on Tolkien’s work, including The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

This book is not an exhaustive biography; the author points out at the beginning that the definite biography of Tolkien is the authorized biography by Humphrey Carter, which is one of the sources cited here.  Rather than redo that excellent work, Horne instead looks at the moral influences on Tolkien’s life and work.

This book is an easy, enjoyable read for anyone who is interested in the spiritual background and influences on Tolkien, especially for those without the patience or desire to read through the full Carter biography.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Inspirational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

