Jolt by Phil Cooke – a Guide for Change

Jolt, by Phil Cooke, is more than a book about adapting to change.  It is a book about embracing change and using it to improve our lives.  Cooke’s premise is that in this electronic age, our lives are disrupted almost continuously and we should learn to take advantage of this.  Change often jolts us out of our comfort zone.  While it is an uncomfortable feeling, that jolt can lead to a new career or a lifestyle change.

Cooke discusses 25 different jolts, grouped by category such as “jolt your priorities” and “jolt your heart”.  He provides insight in ways to turn each jolt to our advantage.  A job loss could be the jolt to return to the dream career of youth.  A conflict with a friend or family member could be the jolt to set relationship boundaries. 

Even if you are not in the middle of change, this book has many nuggets of wisdom about motivation and living.  There is excellent advice on setting priorities and minimizing distractions to increase focus.  Cooke provides guidance to motivate, inspire creativity and make better choices.

I highly recommend this book.  I can think of several people I’d like to buy copies for, from friends who are struggling through corporate downsizing to a new supervisor who is struggling to change perceptions in his workplace.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Leadership and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

