A Hope Undaunted by Julie Lessman

A Hope Undaunted by Julie Lessman is the first book in her new Winds of Change series. This is my first time reading this author, and I thoroughly enjoyed the book. It takes place over two years, from May 1929 through May 1931. Our heroine is Katie O’Connor, the youngest daughter of a well-off family in Boston. Katie is a modern young woman of the 1920’s, eager to become a lawyer and champion women’s rights. Her boyfriend Jack is wound around her finger, and even her father has trouble refusing her. He does, however, finally put his foot down and forces Katie to give up her boyfriend for the summer and volunteer at the Boston Children’s Aid Society. What she doesn’t know is that the aid society is run by her childhood nemesis, Luke McGee.
There are many plot twists in this story, which made me want to keep reading “just a little bit more” until I found that I was up past midnight finishing the book. The characters are well drawn, and I found myself caring about even the minor characters in the story. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
Have any of you read this book? What did you think? Was anyone else bothered by the fact that the title was “Hope Undaunted” and two of the sisters were named Faith and Charity, but the main character was Katie?

About Lilibet King

I'm a mid-level manager for a national company, one that doesn't permit me to mention its name in a blog - I'm not that high up in the company. I'm an introvert who has trouble finding material on leadership for those who are introverted and/or shy, so I'm writing my own based on almost 20 years experience in management and supervision.
This entry was posted in Christian Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

